布碌崙華人聯合會
United Chinese Association of Brooklyn
Who We Are

本會全名是布碌崙華人聯合會,簡稱華聯會。 是美國聯邦註冊501 c3 的非謀利機構,主要服務對象是紐約市布碌崙區賓城墟美國華人。

 


Map



我們的使命


布碌崙華人聯合會(UCA簡稱UCA或華聯會),成立於2002年。創立宗旨是為了改善賓臣墟華人生活質素,團結社區力量,爭取平等待遇,致力改善社區和華人在美國的權益。



願景


建立一個和諧安定和守望相助的社區。



華聯會歷史


華聯會是一間成立於2002年,在布碌崙賓臣墟區唯一一間註冊為501 C(3)的非營利機構,在區內同時為亞裔社區爭取人權福利平等,供青少年,成年人和長者服務的志願組織。



創會經過



在2002年發生在區內拉菲逸高中接二連三襲擊華人新移民學生事件促使了本會的成立。當時該校的行政對殘酷襲擊華人學生的處理方式備受非議﹐在當年11月導致300名憤怒的社區領袖﹐家長和學生成立了華人聯合會United Chinese Association.

UCA成為了受傷害社區的組織平台﹐並發動有效的示威表達對拉菲逸高中校方的不當處理。社區發動的示威驅使了美國司法部在2004年介入調查學校﹐並因應校方對亞裔學生受襲及提供不足夠服務予ESL及ELL學生的不當展開規管。



社區的訴求



在幫助亞裔移民立足的需求的過程中,UCA認識到許多中國移民人口在其所居地區並沒有獲得他們需要的足夠資源,以協助他們在生活中所需。無法獲得足夠的ESL和ELL英文教育也是眾多移民所面對的難題之一。人口統計中顯示在過去20年遷入賓臣墟(至今,一個主要是意大利和猶太社區)的中國移民人口正快速增長。賓臣墟現時最少有33%人口是亞洲人,說英語不太好的佔62%。因應這種情況﹐UCA在過去的十年當中,為社區提供直接服務和諮詢服務,以幫助社區應對這些變化。我們的董事會每位成員皆在近數十年移民自中國或香港,所以他們都了解新移民所面對要適應的變遷及爭扎。董事會成員衷心的緊密合作使得UCA贏得社區各界的信任及信心,這有助於我們開發更多的服務範疇。

我們很榮幸成為賓臣墟唯一一間為移民提供服務的機構組織﹐我們體會到所提供的服務與移民社區同時成長﹐本會董事委員猶記40年前遷居至賓臣墟時﹐是整條街唯一一戶華人家庭。要準確計算賓臣墟有多大變遷確實不易﹐部分是從人口統計所得﹐也許是以合法移民為主。

關於我們

UCA | About Us
United Chinese Association of Brooklyn
Who We Are

We are the United Chinese Association of Brooklyn, commonly known as UCA. UCA is a 501 (c)(3) non-profit organization formed to serve the needs of the Chinese-American population in the Bensonhurst area of Brooklyn, New York City.

 


Map



Mission


United Chinese Association of Brooklyn (UCA) was founded in 2002 to mobilize community resources to improve the quality of life for the underserved Chinese immigrant population in Bensonhurst, Brooklyn.



Vision


Our vision is to develop a harmonious and civil mindedness community.



History


UCA is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization founded in 2002. We are the only Chinese-serving organization in Bensonhurst that provides advocacy networks and direct services to youth, adults and seniors.



Our Founding



Our founding was spurred by a spate of assaults on Chinese immigrant students at Lafayette High School in 2002. The high school administration’s handling of a particularly brutal assault in November of that year led 300 angry community leaders, parents and students to form the United Chinese Association. UCA became a forum for the frustrated community to organize and sustain effective protest against Lafayette’s administration. Our community organizing efforts led to a 2004 U.S. Department of Justice investigation into the school and subsequent ruling against the school for its systemic mishandling of assaults against Asian students and for providing inadequate services for ESL and ELL students.



Issues in the Community



In the course of helping Asian immigrants stand up for their needs, UCA realizes that many of the Chinese immigrant population in the area were not getting the resources and assistance they needed to adjust to life in the United States. Inadequate access to ESL and ELL education was just one of a number of issues immigrants faced. The rapid increase of Chinese immigrants settling in Bensonhurst (up until recently, a predominantly Italian and Jewish neighborhood) in the past 20 years reflects the demographic shifts that have led to tensions in the neighborhood. The population in Bensonhurst is now 33% Asian, and 62% percent of them do not speak English "very well". Over the past five years, UCA has developed direct services and advocacy programs to help the community deal with these changes. Every one of our board members has immigrated from China or Hong Kong in the last few decades, so they know the adjustment struggles that new immigrants face. The close relationship of the board members to the community has allowed UCA to earn the trust and confidence of the community, which has helped us identify key program and service areas.

As the only organization in Bensonhurst that is dedicated to advocating for and serving Chinese immigrants, we have seen participations in our programs and services grow with the increase of the Chinese immigrant population in the neighborhood. Our board members remember moving into Bensonhurst 40 years ago as the only Chinese family on the block. Accurate estimates of how much Bensonhurst has changed are hard to find, in part because of how recent the demographic shifts are, and perhaps because of sensitivity surrounding some immigrants’ legal status.

A B O U T   U S